Adventures of Allergy Mom: Grocery Shopping Edition

Leo has Eosinophilic Esophagitis which, long story short, means when he eats certain foods, his white blood cells attack the food and his esophagus causing inflammation and bleeding. Therefore he avoids the following foods: wheat, corn, peaches, pineapple, and peanuts.  When I do something heroic in catering to his needs, I will call it Adventures of Allergy Mom. 😉

Monday mornings, I plan my meals for the week, make my grocery list and head to Walmart. I hate Walmart’s business practices but I still shop there because their prices are the lowest and with the cost of allergen-free products so insanely high, I have to save on our regular food. So I planned my meals this morning (though I only came up with three, with thursday and friday up in the air) and headed to Walmart for the bulk of our food items.

After I went home and unloaded the cold stuff, I headed to Sprouts in need of Leo’s wheat-free, c0rn-free tortillas, bread and spaghetti.  I got the tortillas and spaghetti (even found some WF/CF gnocchi!), but they were out of his bread.

Then I went across the street to Target because they have shredded cheddar that doesn’t contain corn starch (thank you, Market Pantry for using potato starch instead).

And then because I still needed Leo’s bread, I continued on to Safeway to cross that off my list.

It’s normal for me to visit these 4 stores over the course of the week (and sometimes others too–Albertsons carries our safe lasagna noodles, the Sprouts in Scottsdale has the safe flour blend I like), it just was a perfect storm that made me visit them all today. Oy!

And that is how Allergy Mom puts food on the table.

2 responses to “Adventures of Allergy Mom: Grocery Shopping Edition

  1. Definitely heroic! You have my admiration and kudos for sure! My multiple grocery stores per week are all for the sake of AVOIDING Walmart, so I’d categorize that motivation under “quality of life” and “saving money” vs. the necessity you face.

  2. I know what you mean about shopping at Walmart. It’s a love/hate relationship. And I thought going to TWO stores each week was bad! Sheesh! The things we do for our children! 😉

Leave a Reply

