We Watch Movies

We watch a lot of movies around here. Lately, in addition to watching movies with the kids on weekends, we have been watching between dinner and bedtime on weeknights.  It’s not a great practice–I find it frustrating to watch movies in 15 minute increments, but whatever. It’s the end of the school year, we need a little joy to push through, right?

Also, after the kids are in bed, Walter and I spend about 45 minutes most nights watching tv. I love it when we watch a whole tv series (we most recently watched Breaking Bad), but when we are between series, we watch movies.  I suppose it would be great if we took the time after the kids went to bed to get all sorts of stuff done, but we are exhausted.  And this way, it’s like every night is date night!

Here’s what we’ve been watching lately….

Family Films

The Princess Bride

51CQK1J5sXL._AA160_

One of our all-time faves, I love that our kids are old enough that we could introduce them to this classic film.  They loved it, and watching it with them made it extra fun for Walter and me.

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

513aE+B5J6L._AA160_

We weren’t sure if it would scare the kids, but they had no problem. They both liked it and we will have to rent the two sequels.

Eragon

519shWSr4WL._AA160_

This isn’t a great piece of art, it’s cliche and derivative, but it’s fun nevertheless and not scary–the kids enjoyed the adventure.

Rio 2

517WnIC5iqL._AA160_

Today we went to the movie theater and saw Rio 2. The kids loved it! Walter and I thought it wasn’t as good as the original. I thought it had too many bad guys (the white bird, the red birds, and the loggers), among other issues. And it just wasn’t much fun.

Date Movies

Admission

51osSu9p4lL._AA160_

This wasn’t what I was expecting. Paul Rudd and Tina Fey, I was expecting something super funny similar to This is 40.* There were moments that I laughed till I cried, but overall it was more serious than I expected. That said, I really liked it. And Lily Tomlin–what a fun surprise.

Blue Jasmine

51Y0zB0ipQL._AA160_

I did not want to see this. I believe Woody Allen is a pedophile and we shouldn’t support his films. But Walter wanted to see Cate Blanchett’s Oscar-winning performance.  I thought the movie was just okay.  But Blanchett’s performance–goodness gracious, it was a masterpiece! She nailed it, nailed it!

Nebraska

51OVVhum9GL._AA160_

This was another of Walter’s suggestions, because he’d heard about it on NPR and he wanted to see Bruce Dern. Dern and the rest of the cast did a great job, but it was boring.  This one I can wholeheartedly tell you to skip. Two thumbs down.

What movies have you seen lately?

*If you are between 35 and 45 and haven’t seen This is 40 yet, it is a must-see. Hilarious and spot-on!

2 responses to “We Watch Movies

    • I just watched “Her” a few days ago with Joaquin Phoenix and the voice of Scarlett Johansson (you’ll understand when you watch the movie.) It is a rom-com which is cute and it may make you think about what artificial intelligence and human social interactions may look like in the immediate future. I enjoyed it. Definitely not a movie for kids. Pretty interesting. Great performance by Joaquin Phoenix.

Leave a Reply

