How We Do: Enchiladas

For years, I made enchiladas using Macayo’s enchilada sauce. It was basically the only sauce I ever liked.  I don’t generally like enchiladas and yet I love this sauce. But at some point we wanted to see if we could get Leo to like enchiladas and Macayo’s has wheat as an ingredient. (Boo!)  We tried a bunch of safe enchilada sauces (no wheat, no corn) but we were never successful at finding one we all liked.  For a brief time, we found one Leo liked and I would make his enchiladas separately and then use Macayo’s for the rest of us, but he didn’t like being different (which I totally understand). Also, he didn’t like the ground beef so his would be made with just cheese.   (Tess used to like hers with beef but has now stitched to cheese. Never a dull moment.)

Finally, I found a safe sauce we all like:

2068

Finally, I decided to try to put all our enchiladas in the same pan. Here is what our enchiladas look like these days:

IMG_2478

On the left are Leo’s cheese enchiladas in rice tortillas. In the center are Tess’ cheese enchiladas in corn tortillas. The pile on the right are the beef enchiladas in corn tortillas that Walter and I eat.

Last night Leo decided he likes the beef (great news!), so next time I will make that change for him. 🙂

The Frontera sauce is a different consistency from the Macayo’s (by the way, I use two pouches of Frontera to cover all our tortillas) so it’s taken me a few tries to figure out how to use them. Basically I find it easier to fold the tortillas in half rather than try to fold them in thirds. As you can see, it’s kind of any ugly mess, but very delicious!

If you don’t know how to make enchiladas (or want to know “how we do it”), I heat the sauce in a medium pan on about medium heat, then one at a time put the tortilla in sauce to warm it, then remove the tortilla to the baking dish (currently using 9×13), stuff if with either meat or cheese, then fold and repeat.  After each layer, add some extra sauce and some cheese.  Cook according to the sauce directions.  (Leo’s rice tortillas are so big I cut them in half for this recipe.)  For the meat, I just brown ground beef and season with black pepper, garlic powder, chili powder, cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes. I like that I can brown the meat earlier in the day, then getting the enchiladas ready for the oven only takes 15-20 minutes.

One response to “How We Do: Enchiladas

  1. Hi Shannon! Your enchilada recipe sounds quick, easy and scrumptious! Will try in our kitchen tonight. Thanks for sharing! Hope all you guys are doing well. 🙂 Al

Leave a Reply

